Skip to main content

Earth and Environmental Sciences

CSM Staff

Academic staff

Professor Jens C. Andersen Assoc. Prof. of Economic Geology
Dr Thomas Aubry Lecturer in Geophysics
Dr Bahram Bahrambeygi Lecturer in Mining & Exploration Geology
Professor John Coggan Professor of Rock Engineering
Dr Rich Crane Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Mining
Dr Matthew Eyre Senior Lecturer in Mining Eng/Intelligent Mining
Dr Robert Fitzpatrick Senior Lecturer in Minerals Processing
Professor Patrick Foster Assoc. Professor in Mine Safety, Director of CSM
Professor Hylke J Glass Rio Tinto Professor of Mining and Minerals Engineering
Aveen Hameed Senior Lecturer in Mining and Geological Education
Nick Hardie Academic Mentor for the Mining Engineering DA
Professor Stephen Hesselbo Professor of Geology
Dr James Hickey Senior Lecturer in Geophysics and Volcanology
Professor Karen Hudson-Edwards Professor in Sustainable Mining
Dr Hannah Hughes Senior Lecturer in Exploration and Mining Geology
Professor Kip Jeffrey Professor of Mining Education
Dr Sev Kender Senior Lecturer in Earth Sciences
Dr Kate Littler Senior Lecturer in Geology
Dr Lewis Meyer Senior Lecturer in Mining Engineering
Dr Kathryn Moore Senior Lecturer in Critical and Green Technology Metals
Professor Julian Ortiz Professor, Mark Cutifani / Anglo American Chair in Mining Innovation
Professor Robin Shail Associate Professor of Geology
Dr Benedikt Steiner Senior Lecturer and MSc Programme Director in Exploration and Mining Geology
Dr Clemens Vinzenz Ullmann Proleptic Lecturer
Dr Declan Vogt Senior Lecturer in Robotics and Automated Mining
Professor Frances Wall Professor of Applied Mineralogy
Dr Andrew Wetherelt Programme Director and Senior Lecturer for BEng/MEng Mining Engineering
Professor Ben Williamson Associate Professor in Applied Mineralogy
Neill Wood Programme Director for MSc Surveying and Land/Environmental Management

Research staff

Rami Alshembari Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Sam Broom-Fendley Proleptic Lecturer
Richard Chalkley Graduate Research Assistant
Elin Jennings Graduate Research Assistant
Dr Parul Johar Postdoctoral Research Associate
Tom Lintern Industrial Impact Fellow
Dr Nivea Magalhaes Research Fellow
Dr Lorenzo Mantiloni Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Eva Marquis Research Fellow
Dr Mohammad Hadi Mohammadi Visiting Academic
William Parker Graduate Research Assistant
Johnny Pope Industrial Impact Fellow
Dr Violeta Ramos Research Fellow
Dr Mohammed Ismail Rehmanji Research Fellow
Dr Gavyn Rollinson Experimental Officer (Facility Manager of CIMF)
Gilles Seropian Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Kate Taylor Smith Research Fellow
Victoria Smyth Project Coordinate Met4Tech - IIB
Steph Wilk Business Development Manager - IIB
Dr Yujie Yan Research Fellow


Rakan Abdulwahed Postgraduate
Ben Adams Postgraduate
Saud Almuhaysini Postgraduate
Kiara Brooksby Postgraduate
Tom Buckle Postgraduate
Charlie Compton-Jones Postgraduate
Eimear Deady Postgraduate
Jasmine Dibben Postgraduate
Jinrong Gan Postgraduate
Misagh Ghobadi Postgraduate
Thomas Gibson Postgraduate
Charlotte Greenall Postgraduate
Rupert Heathcote Postgraduate
Patrick Hegarty Postgraduate
Philip Henes Postgraduate
Edward Hill Postgraduate
Stefan Horn Postgraduate
Elin Jennings Postgraduate
Cassia Johnson Postgraduate
Michael Kapembwa Postgraduate
Becca Kirk Postgraduate
Peirou Li Postgraduate
Dan Manns Postgraduate
Alexander 'Bruce' Matheson Postgraduate
Michael Musialike Postgraduate
John Kennedy Okewling Postgraduate
Azubuike Agbai Okoroafor Postgraduate
Louis Penfound-Marks Postgraduate
Tikondane Phiri Postgraduate
Carlo Robiati Postgraduate
Pete Siegfried Postgraduate
Lucie Sindall MSc By Research
Dominika Szucs Postgraduate
Rebecca Tanner Postgraduate
Jack Timmins MSc By Research
Magali Verkerk Postgraduate
Chloe Walker-Trivett Postgraduate
Jack Wilkin Postgraduate
Annie Yin Postgraduate
Madeline R Young Postgraduate
Gabriel Ziwa Postgraduate

Honorary staff

Dr Adel Ali Saeed Abduh Visiting Academic
Professor Gregor Borg Honorary Professor
Dr Christopher Bryan Senior Lecturer
Dr Lawrence Carter Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Simon Dominy Honorary Associate Professor
Dr Mirko Francioni Honorary Lecturer in Mining Engineering
Dr David Gibson Honorary Senior Research Fellow
David Hudson Honorary Associate Research Fellow
Professor Dean Millar Honorary Professor
Dr Mohammad Hadi Mohammadi Visiting Academic
Dr Charlie Moon Honorary Senior research Fellow
Dr Saeid Moradi Honorary Research Fellow
Professor Robert Pine Emeritus Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
Professor Kalvala Srinivas Reddy Honorary Professor
Professor Peter Scott Emeritus Professor of Industrial Geology
Professor Michael Searle Honorary Professor
Professor Douglas Stead Honorary Visiting Professor
Dr Matthew Tonkins Associate Researcher
Dr Chris Yeomans Associate Researcher